Twenty Things I’ve Learned This Year

This has been a rather difficult year for me…especially the last few months.  Looking back, I’ve realized that I’ve learned many lessons that I’d like to pass on to my friends and family.  Some you may find entertaining while others may get you thinking.  Either way, I hope you find something that you can take with you as we finish up this decade.

  1. It really is okay to break the rules every once in a while.  It can even be a lot of fun!
  2. Life is a marathon.  If you treat it as a sprint you might injure yourself and miss out on something important.
  3. The easiest way to learn something new is to jump in with both feet, but the easiest way to learn something new about yourself is to mess up BIG!
  4. You can transform yourself, but be careful that you don’t forget about the inside transformation while you concentrate on the changes on the outside.  These can sneak up on you.
  5. It is possible to learn to run…even when you aren’t being chased.
  6. Woodchucks really do like chucking wood.
  7. Old habits may die hard but they can also come back from the dead to bite you in the ass!
  8. It’s hard to lose weight the first time.  It’s even harder to lose it a second time.  I’ll be DAMNED if I’m gonna go through this shit again!
  9. It is possible to watch a movie once, hate it completely, and then laugh your ass off at it every time it comes on tv.
  10. Angels show up when you least expect them, but evil is usually in disguise and is really good at impersonations.
  11. A dog wearing a cone can be both the saddest and funniest thing at the same time!
  12. It is possible for someone you truly and deeply care about to hate you almost as much as you hate yourself for hurting them.
  13. I can drink HARD as long as I dance HARDER!
  14. Sometimes it’s important to be a lot more action and whole lot less talk.
  15. It’s never too late to straighten your teeth…and it’s definitely a lesson in patience.
  16. Guilt is not an emotion I’m a fan of, but it’s one of the strongest ones out there because it can serve as a conscience when you’ve lost yours.
  17. It is okay to delete a show off of your DVR without watching it first.  Regardless of what I thought, the world won’t come to an end.
  18. Starting something new can benefit more people than just you.
  19. You CAN reinvent yourself…look at Old Spice!  I’m on a horse!
  20. Even after 36 years, you can still find things out about yourself that can surprise you and make you doubt everything you know, but those who love you will help you filter through the bullshit you’ve walked through and may even take you shoe shopping in an effort to help you get a fresh start.

From those who have walked along side me through these lessons to those from whom I’ve been taught a lesson…THANK YOU!  If you are still in my life or have recently reunited with me…I am so very grateful for your love and friendship.  For those who are no longer in my life because the cost of the lesson learned was our relationship…I am incredibly sorry, I miss your friendship terribly, and I hope if we can’t find a way back into each other’s lives that we can at least learn to be grateful for the time we shared and try to leave the bad memories in the past where they belong.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

