Epiphanies

There are probably very few people who can tell you their favorite sound.  I am not one of those people.  I know what mine is!  My favorite sound can be heard when someone who has been trying to figure something out for a while finally has a breakthrough.  What follows next is pure music to my ears…“Ohhhh!!!”  We’ve all had one of those moments…hopefully!  It really does happen more frequently than you might think.  Maybe you just haven’t listened for it before, but something tells me you might notice it moving forward.  There is another type of breakthrough that you can have that may or may not result in you expressing my favorite sound, but it doesn’t make it any less substantial.  What I am referring to is an epiphany.  Sure this word can have a religious connotation, but the definition of this word to which I am referring is “any moment of great or sudden revelation” as defined by www.thefreedictionary.com.

Epiphanies can occur at any age.  A good example of an epiphany at a very early age is the realization that the baby in the mirror is not another person but instead just a reflection of yourself.  As we age, these experiences mature with us.  Sure most teenagers think they know everything and their parents couldn’t possibly understand what they are going through.  I know I felt that way at that age.  What I discovered was that early in my twenties I came to understand that my parents have been through much of the same life lessons as I had at that point and maybe I should start listening to their advice.  Maybe I should learn from their experiences.  I’ve done my best to keep this in mind throughout the years and I think that overall I have.  Because of it, I am more likely to ask their advice prior to tackling something new rather than after I’ve already screwed it up.

As we get into our later adulthood and have learned many of the difficult lessons life has thrown our way, the epiphanies that we have can stop us in our tracks.  In these moments of clarity I find the answer to the question that I have been asking myself for a while…Why?  Why am I always making the same mistake when it comes to one issue?  Why am I having such difficulty dealing with this situation?  Why does it bother me so much when I’m treated a certain way by a certain person?  Sometimes these answers come to me while I’m driving somewhere.  Sometimes they come to me while I’m exercising.  I can even remember a time I had an epiphany in the middle of a Weight Watchers meeting.  So what is it about our brains at the time that allow for this moment of great revelation?  Are we just relaxed enough mentally that what was trying to get out finally does?  Is it a sign from above that the answer to our prayers has finally arrived?  Is it just dumb luck?  Who knows?!  The important thing is that whatever aligned in our world to allow us to come to the much-needed conclusion put us in a better frame of mind and moves us along in our forward progression as a human being.  Here’s looking forward to each of your next “Ohhhh!” moments…and the hopes that I might be there to experience the music that only an instant like that can produce!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

