Misunderstood

“You sick alyumia.”  Doesn’t make much sense does it?  It didn’t to me either, and I’ve probably heard this said about a million times!  This is what I understood Peter Falk (the grandfather) to say in the movie “The Princess Bride” as he was talking to Fred Savage (the grandson).  It wasn’t until my brother kindly informed me that what was actually said was, “You’re sick.  I’ll humor you.”  Hmmm…yeah…that makes a little more sense!  Thanks Jason!  So many times in my life I find that my hearing is trying to play tricks on me.  This happens when I listen to music, watch a movie, and sometimes when I’m in the middle of a conversation with someone.  I’m not sure why it happens, but it is usually good for a hearty chuckle and in many cases it results in me getting to hear my favorite sound in the world…“Ohhhh!!”

Most of my friends and family know that I enjoy to karaoke from time to time.  I’m one of the rare people who can do this without the aid of some liquid courage beforehand.  If you ever happen to join me for a night of singing you are more than likely going to see me make “that face” you make when you realize that you’ve been singing the wrong lyrics for years!!  What is almost funnier than that is when I know the lyrics to a song and hear someone else singing something completely different.  I will never forget hanging out with my cousin-in-law and listening to “One Of These Days” by Tim McGraw.  All of a sudden he looks at me and asks, “What’s a tootie?”  After I stopped laughing, I asked him what he was talking about.  He said that in the song Tim McGraw sings, “I took one look at her and had to pull her tootie,” so he was wondering what a tootie was.  Again, after the hysterical laughing subsided a bit, I informed him that what was sung was, “I took one look at her and had to pull her to me.”  Regardless of the correct lyrics, I cannot to this day hear that song without wanting to sing “tootie” during that part.  It always puts a smile on my face.

Another song I have fond memories of takes me back to my college days.  The group is Ace of Base and the song is “The Sign.”  I will always remember listening to this song with Jess and Raegan and joking that at the very beginning of the song she sings, “I bought a bowl, yeah!”  If you have a chance to go back and listen to this you will have a hard time disproving my theory.  Why did she buy a bowl?  Why is she so excited about the bowl?  Maybe she saw a sign that there was a sale on bowls and she just couldn’t pass it up!

I’d have to say how glad I am that there are resources out there like the internet as well as other people to set me straight should these situations arise.  What’s interesting is that some of the most famous lines from classic movies are misquoted by society.  For example, in my mom’s favorite movie “The Wizard of Oz,” the famous quote “I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore, Toto.” was never actually spoken in the movie.  What was actually said by Dorothy was “Toto, I’ve a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.”  Why is it that as a society this line was altered?  It isn’t all that different from what was actually said, but why the change regardless?  Who knows?  At least the overall point they were trying to convey was still the same.

Of all the misquotes out there, I’d have to say that I always enjoy hearing what little kids come up with.  I recently had a friend text me to tell me his daughter was singing “Ring Around the Rosies” and decided to insert her own lyrics.  According to her, the song goes, “Ring around the rosies, pocket pooped a floaties.”  Gotta love it!

I know there will be many more gems like these to amuse me in the days, months, and years to come.  Regardless, they sure do make for some good “Ohhhh!” moments!  So whether I’m singing “Pour some sugar on me when the needle runs low” (actual lyric is “Oooh, in the name of love”) or having to explain what a “tootie” is, I sure do appreciate these epic failures for what they are – some much-needed comic relief in a world gone mad.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

