Direction

What do you want to be when you grow up?  Think back to your childhood and try to imagine just how many times you were asked this question.  Countless I’m sure!  When you’re young you truly believe you can be anything you can imagine.  In many cases this is still true.  If you work hard and apply yourself you’ll find that the sky’s the limit.  It’s only when you get older that you realize that the careers of Superhero and Princess aren’t really attainable…and they probably don’t pay very well either (unless you’re Catherine Middleton).  The other problem with these two careers is that you won’t find them as a major in any college.  So now what?  On average, a college student will change their major five times.  I never actually changed mine…I just added a second major.  For most college-bound people though, they use this time to help them choose a path that will lead towards a future career.  In some cases, it is only when you’ve graduated with your degree that you find you’re not really sure exactly where this path is leading.  I guess I would have fallen into this group.  I graduated from college with a Bachelor of Arts degree having double majored in Psychology and Communications.  I even took an extra year and got my Secondary Teaching Certificate.  Now, 13 years after completing my schooling, I find I am again searching for something I never truly found during my studies…direction.

We’ve probably all heard someone say at one point or another to do what you love and the money will follow.  Either that, or do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.  The way I see it, work is work.  There’s no getting around it.  If you want something badly enough it has to be worth working for.  Lately though, I feel like I’ve regressed back to my childhood.  I’ve been asking myself the adult version of “What do I want to be when I grow up?” which, for me, sounds more like “What do I want to do with my life?”  This is a pretty big question when you think about it.  Used to, back in my early 20’s after I was married, I began to rethink the whole “career” thing and felt that there was nothing more important than being a wife and mother.  I felt like I had a pretty good grasp on the whole “wife” thing, but I never would have expected the second part of that career choice would be so difficult to attain.  So, I find myself in my mid-30’s with no set career path feeling ridiculous when someone asks me what I do for a living.  When I say I’m a stay-at-home wife, it is usually followed with one of those dreaded questions I’ve written about – “How many kids do you have?” – to which I have to answer “none.”  Sigh!!!

I’ve realized that this is not the direction I expected my career to take.  This path I have been on for the last few years has made me realize a few things.  First, I need something more challenging in my life than seeing how many loads of laundry I can finish in a day.  Next, on the days that I am busy, I don’t eat nearly as much…mostly due to lack of boredom.  Because of this, I figured finding a job will indirectly help me with my weight loss.  Finally, if I’m going to find a career that truly makes me happy then I’m going to have to step a bit out of my comfort zone.

After much consideration, I have made the decision to get certified to teach Zumba which is a Latin-based dance fitness.  This is something I enjoy, it helps me stay fit, and it’s something I think other people can benefit from as well.  Most importantly, it was my decision that has inspired me to travel down this new path, and I know I will only get out of it what I put into it.  Where this endeavor will lead is a bit unclear right now, but I know it’s a move in a new and different direction…and right now different is good!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

