1,000 Miles

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.”  This quote has been playing over and over in my mind the last week.  With all daunting tasks, it usually seems easier when we break them down into smaller parts or baby steps.  I’ve used this mindset on many occasions, but recently it has helped me in getting back on track with my weight loss goals.  Back in 2010, when I started my pursuit of achieving my goal weight, I was very motivated and, in turn, was very successful in working towards that objective.  By the end of the year, I had lost over 50 pounds and my goal was in sight.  However, around that same time something happened.  I’m still not sure exactly what, but it stalled my momentum and set me on a different and unfortunately familiar tangent.

Over the last year I did not do what I was supposed to be doing.  I still attended my Weight Watchers meetings.  I still weighed in each week.  But now, it was just me going through the motions.  I watched the scale go up and down over and over again.  I felt my clothes get tighter and more uncomfortable to wear.  I started recognizing the person I was seeing in pictures as someone I said I would never see again.  I couldn’t believe that I was doing something I swore I’d never do…I was gaining back the weight.  As last year came to a close, I decided it was time to take that first step…again.  I had taken the first step of that thousand mile journey about a thousand times, but I’m a firm believer in that you are judged not by what you begin but by what you finish.  This was a journey I had NEVER finished.  I have never been a normal, healthy weight.  I have never woken up on a New Year’s Day to realize that this doesn’t have to be the year that I lose the weight for good because I already had.

I decided it was time to get serious…or as serious as I get! 😉 I pulled up my Weight Watchers eTools to see what damage I had done during 2011.  I was appalled at what I found out.  Not only had I gained back 17 pounds that I had lost, but I had gained back 8 inches as well!!  Here I am, a fitness instructor, and I was not setting a good example for those who attended my classes.  I started a group on Facebook called “F.O.R. Getting Healthy” with the F.O.R. standing for “Friends Of Robyn.”  I needed a way to hold myself more accountable for my actions and maybe help someone else in the process.  I’m excited to say that the group has now grown to over 50 people and I hope to add more as the interest grows.  What’s great is that we are all there to offer advice, encouragement, and support for one another as there are people at all stages of this endeavor.  I have also gotten back on track and can now honestly say that I am on Weight Watchers and have already seen that working the program truly does work!  DUH!

Looking back, I realized that I spent last year justifying why I was eating what I was eating which became my go-to plan.  I told myself, “It’s okay to eat this.  I’ll work out tomorrow.”   I’d skip a workout and tell myself, “It’s okay.  I’ll eat better tomorrow.”  Tomorrow never actually got there in its entirety.  The morning might have started off okay, but by the time dinner came around, it was like I was out for revenge or something.  This is how I have always gotten into trouble with my weight.  I know that this process will never be easy for me, but nothing worth having is ever easy.  I’m a big believer that life is meant to be enjoyed.  I enjoy food and I will continue to do so.  I just have to keep taking those baby steps forward.  It may take longer than expected, but I know that eventually I WILL get there!…and I’m really looking forward to the welcoming party when I arrive!!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Weight Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1,000 Miles

  1. phat50chick says:

    your story is my story. I rationalize everything. I swear if I skip the gym today I’ll go tomorrow. But anyways, I swear, 2012 is my year and I do feel like I’m in a better place mentally as far as losing the weight. Everything else in my life is great, so why can’t I control the weight better? I’m going to give it another hard try.

    Like

    • robynthorn says:

      I know you can do it! We have all the tools we need to be successful, now it’s time to do the work. I started my own personal 30-day challenge and am happy to report that so far I’ve lost a little over 4 pounds in 4 weeks. I’m trying new classes at the gym that I’ve never taken and it’s giving me a chance to work out my body in different way. I love coming away with a feeling of accomplishment. Best of luck to you and feel free to contact me if I can ever be of help!!

      Like

  2. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

