Random Acts of Insanity

Oh to be a fly on the wall in my head! I can’t tell you just how entertaining it would be for you to spend even just one day inside my mind to experience the insanity that is Robyn. There has never really been any rhyme or reason as to why thoughts pop into my head when they do, but they can catch even me off guard. I’m grateful for having in iPhone as it gives me the chance to capture some of these gems before they float away into the deep abyss of my brain. I thought I’d share some of them with you as we all need a little laugh every once in a while.

While writing a check to my hair dresser, I began pondering the English language as I do quite often. I realized what a difference one letter can make. For example, there is a BIG difference between a salon and a saloon, but there is only a letter difference. Additionally, after teaching a Zumba class one evening, I realized the vast difference between sweat and sweet, yet again only differing by one letter. Gotta love the English language!!

I recently watched an episode of The Big Bang Theory (my new favorite show!!!). One scene depicted Sheldon walking down the stairs while reciting the stars nearest to him. He got almost all the way down and realized he messed up, so what does he do? He walks all the way back up and starts over. This insane act is EXACTLY what I would have done had I been in the same situation.

While watching yet another of my favorite shows – Family Guy – they showed a scene in which two OCD bank robbers try to hold up a bank. They require everyone to hold their hands up in the air with their arms parallel to each other. Then they instruct the bank teller to fill a bag with clean, unmarked bills, but not before they tell her to fix the notepad so it’s at a right angle with the corner of the desk. It continues on…with me laughing hysterically because again, that is EXACTLY what I would have done in the same situation. Come and take a look at my pantry if you don’t believe me…or better yet, ask someone who has put something into my pantry without turning it the correct direction.

I’m also fascinated by my train of thought…which apparently either needs some training or is soon to derail. It’s funny where a thought starts in my head and even funnier where it ends up. I could have something simple like needing to get my oil changed pop into my head and within a minute have followed that thought all the way to thinking about a giant squid. It’s even more amusing when I, myself, trace back how the hell I got there!! Several years ago, I was sitting on one end of our couch with my hubby at the other end. All of a sudden, a thought popped into my head and I began a conversation with my hubby…in my head. This went on for a good solid five minutes. After having not said a word this whole time, I turned to my unsuspecting hubby and asked, “Do you remember that?” to which he replied, “Yeah, I do.” The hysterical laughing ensued on my part having realized what just transpired.

Don’t even get me started when it comes to deep philosophical or scientific issues as I can be lost in thought indefinitely if I let myself. One of my favorite quotes from a show about the universe (which I LOVE watching) is: “The universe is not only stranger than we imagine, but it is stranger than we CAN imagine.” HOLY CRAP!! Now I can imagine some pretty freaky things when it comes to alien planets and alien life, but they’re telling me that my brain can’t even dream up most of what is actually out there?!?

I think it’s safe to say that those flies on the wall in my head have probably crossed the event horizon and fallen into a black hole at this point! Maybe my brain is like Hotel California where you can check out any time you like, but you can never leave!! What’s next? Who knows? Either way, it’s sure to be a memorable ride…assuming my train of thought can stay on the tracks long enough!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

