Learning to laugh at yourself

The other day I was teaching a Zumba class and, as I often do, I found myself giggling. If you’ve been in my class even once, you’ll notice that I do this quite often. I love what I do, and I usually can’t help but smile. For those who don’t know what it is, Zumba is a Latin-based dance fitness. We do everything from salsa to bachata to reggaeton to samba and so on. It’s the most fun you can have with your clothes on! It’s never really felt like exercise to me which is why I’ve been able to stick with it.

Whenever I talk to someone who is having difficulty with the routines, I am always taken back to the first time my cousin Eli tried to show me how to play Guitar Hero. He made it look so easy. When I finally tried, I realized I could either strum the guitar or push the buttons, but not both! After buying the game Rock Band a few years later, I am happy to report that not only can I play that guitar, but I’ve even successfully played songs on the hard level. Like with most things in life, it may not start off easy, but with practice you can learn to overcome your shortcomings…and maybe even look a bit cooler in the process. During one class, I happened to look over to my right and saw one of the ladies in my class bent over laughing at herself hysterically. I instantly started giggling with her even though I had no idea what was so funny. She told me after the class ended that because of the move I was doing at that point that she realized she could do either the feet part or the hands, but she COULD NOT do them together. She was laughing at herself and found her lack of coordination at that moment completely hilarious! She was obviously having a good time and it definitely put a smile on my face as I was teaching.

I thoroughly enjoy watching everyone doing their thing…however they wanna do it. Many times I’m giggling with someone in my class, but never at someone, as in the case I just mentioned. You see, Zumba can be a bit challenging to the coordination part of your brain. Believe it or not, even I have instances where I can’t get my feet and brain to agree on what it is I’m supposed to be doing. This even happens to me during class…ask anyone!! So…what do I do when that happens? I giggle and usually make an announcement as I correct myself that apparently my brain isn’t working today. The best part of this is that it makes those who are feeling a bit less coordinated at the moment like they aren’t the only ones. Zumba isn’t about doing everything perfectly. It’s about moving your body, having fun, and should you burn some calories in the process, so be it!

After completing my certification, a good friend of mine and my first Zumba instructor, Lynda, warned me of something I should prepare myself for if I was going to teach. You will soon lose all sense of left and right. Yeah…whatever!!! Ummm…she was RIGHT (or was that left) on the money! The reason for this is that when I teach a class I am normally facing them. This means that they mirror everything I am doing. The challenging part with this is that this now means that my right is my left and my left is my right. This is the case until I decide to turn around to face the mirror to teach a song and have now reversed everything. Now my left is my left and my right is my right. Problem with this is that most of the time I tell the class to go right I’m actually wrong. This is when the giggling comes in. What an awesome job I have where I can constantly laugh at myself and have people laughing with me!

Life is meant to be enjoyed people! Try not to take some things so seriously. Remember, no one gets out alive. Learn to laugh when something is funny. Learn to smile when you witness something that warms your heart. Show some teeth even! As my cousin-in-law says, showing teeth means you’re totally committed to the smile! We all get so wrapped up in our lives that we forget to see the joy around us. As anyone who has flown in a plane can confirm, even if you leave the ground during a thunderstorm there are always clear skies once you rise above the clouds.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning to laugh at yourself

  1. Cheryl says:

    I love being committed 😀 <—— See!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

