Looking forward

Today marks the end of an era for me. As of today, I can no longer wear my contacts. It’s not that they’re uncomfortable or anything, but rather I’ve been ordered not to wear them. These orders came from the doctor that is performing my LASIK surgery this Thursday, and I am happy to oblige!!

I remember first getting my contacts. It was the summer between my freshman and sophomore year in college. I wanted so badly to be able to wear them because it meant I could buy my own sunglasses and wouldn’t have to worry about things like my glasses fogging up or falling off. I sat in the chair in the doctor’s office while the nurse tried (patiently) for 30 minutes to put in just one of them. Every time her finger would inch closer to my eye I would back up. Getting tired of this “dance” we were in, she finally suggested that maybe I should do it myself. That process took another 30 minutes and me almost throwing up, but I did it!!!! Funny to think how freaked out I was not knowing that I would have times in the future when my contact would somehow roll back behind my eye or I’d put two in the same eye. Yep!! I did that! I’d say hindsight was 20/20, but my eyesight was so bad that anyone or anything more than a foot from me was, and still is, a big blur!

This week is going to be a bit of a challenge.  Because I can’t wear my contacts anymore, it also means I won’t be able to wear my sunglasses…unless I want to put them on over my glasses.  Uh, yeah!  I’d be stylin’ then!  😉  Also, in case you’ve been in a cave for the last year or are just now reading my blog and don’t know me personally, I teach Zumba several times a week.  This isn’t exactly a low-impact class I teach.  I am usually found jumping and bouncing around up on a stage at the front of the room.  Wearing glasses is probably not going to be easy, so I’ve decided that I’ll just go without for the two classes I’ll teach prior to my surgery.  I guess I’ll have to make sure I’m focused during my out-of-focus classes this week!!  Here’s hoping I don’t fall off the stage on Monday!

I think back to one of my favorite time-passing books which I’ve mentioned before in my blog – The Book of Questions. One of the questions in this book is, “If you could wake tomorrow having gained one quality or ability what would it be?” I always remember answering that question by saying, “Perfect eyesight!!” I’m pretty excited that this dream will actually come true this week. I guess that means I’ll have to figure out some other way to answer this question now. Oh darn!

I know that many people go through this procedure every day. I personally know many people who have already had this procedure done. I just never thought I’d get it done myself. I’m looking forward to being able to swim underwater (eventually) with my eyes open and being able to see clearly where I’m going and what is happening around me. I’m so glad that this will be one less thing I’ll have to remember to do when I get up in the morning and before I go to bed at night. I realized the other day that this will be my first Olympics since 1988 during which I’ll be able to watch the opening ceremonies through clear, prescription-free eyes. I’m sure I’ll have many more eye-opening moments like these as the days, months, and years go by, and I am clearly looking forward to each and every one.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

