My nonelectrical outlet

I’ve been sitting here trying to come up with a topic to write about for about an hour now. I’ve had some catchy titles pop into my head such as “Our common thread” or “It’s the little things,” but after writing a sentence or two I just stopped, pressed the backspace key, and deleted what I had written. It just didn’t have the feel I was looking for at the time.  The truth is I haven’t really had writer’s block.

Quite a while ago, after I created this blog, I found that I still needed an outlet to get things off my chest, but I didn’t want to offend anyone or discuss something I shouldn’t considering my audience. That’s when I created my other blog…my secret blog. This one was just for me. It’s not listed under my name, and it’s my way of saying what I need to without worrying about who will hear or well…read. I get unbiased feedback from strangers who know nothing about me except what I’ve written. All names are changed to protect the innocent…or not so innocent, but it is all based on actual experiences.  I’ve written through laughter and tears, frustration and elation, as well as love and loss. There have even been times that I’ve felt every bit of that in one post.

I think everyone at one point or another tries to find some sort of outlet to help keep their sanity in check. This world can throw all kinds of stuff at us and sometimes it can be overwhelming dealing with it all. Some people use exercise to cope while others turn to drugs or alcohol. Obviously not every strategy is as healthy or beneficial as the next, but I’m not here to judge others. I’m just trying to make my way through this life as best I can and I’ve chosen to write the occasional public or private blog to help me manage.

I have so much to learn about myself, about what I want in life, and how I’m going to get there. I have been searching for what truly makes me happy. I know more than anything how blessed I am. I know that others struggle daily with issues I couldn’t even fathom, and that puts things into perspective for me. I am grateful to have writing as an outlet and plan to continue to utilize its cathartic properties. I feel like the pendulum is swinging in the other direction finally and something great is right around the corner. I’m sure of it.  I’m looking forward to the positive effect it’ll have on me and the direction my life will take because of it. When that does happen, you can rest assured I’ll write all about it.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My nonelectrical outlet

  1. Mommala says:

    It’s funny how the things you write about hit home for me. You have an amazing ability to put into words how you feel and what you are thinking about and I wish I had that talent. I can’t tell you how many times you have helped me and I wish I could help you when you need it. I think I too am trying to make my way through this life as best I can and I hope that in some way I can get to where I am supposed to be. I love you Robyn and hope you will continute to write about whatever you feel the need to write about. I hope also that you do it more often because you just don’t realize how much you help others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

