Focus

Last July I was lucky enough to have LASIK surgery. I’m happy to report that everything has healed as it should, and I’m enjoying being without contacts or glasses for the first time since 7th grade. Prior to the surgery, I was very nearsighted.  It wasn’t until something was about 6” from my face that I would see things clearly. Now, I sit here at Starbucks on a beautiful Sunday afternoon and I can read everything around here with no effort. Having focus is good, but it’s not always easy to come by.

Life gets busy; it gets complicated. Losing focus is something that happens and can be difficult to get back. Years ago when I would go see a movie, it always drove me nuts when they would start the reel and it would take a minute or two of everyone in the theater crossing their eyes before they would finally focus the screen. If only it was that easy. Life pulls you in a thousand directions and prioritizing can be a challenge.

So how do you find your focus once you’ve lost it? Some people just push through it while others find themselves feeling completely defeated. One person might retreat and internalize everything when another will reach out to friends and family for help and advice. My point is that losing focus affects everyone differently. Remember you’re a unique person…just like everyone else. What works for one person isn’t going to work for the next. The good thing is that there is no right or wrong way to get back on track. It’s all trial and error.

Lately it’s felt like it’s been a bit of a struggle for me. It’s been a huge adjustment over the last 11 months, but I have a good foundation for what’s to come.  I have a great job in place with people who I feel truly care for my well-being and who want me to be successful. I have an amazingly fun second job where I get to help people achieve their fitness goals while acting like a goofball as I dance around on a stage wearing a microphone. I have the unending support of my family and friends who mean more to me than I could ever express.  I know it just takes that one moment for something to happen that will snap me out of this blurry stage of my life and I will find the wind at my back helping me along.

In the meantime, I will count my blessings. I will learn something new.  I will set goals. I will appreciate dancing in the rain. I will try to remember that it is ALWAYS easier to give advice than it is to take it. Most importantly, I will allow myself the time I need to finally adjust to the idea that things don’t have to be figured out all at once. Every part of my life doesn’t have to be in focus at the same time. It will eventually all come together. Just like my eyes after my LASIK surgery, I need to allow myself time to heal. For a while now I’ve been making things up as I go along, and it can be exhausting at times. I’m not sure what is in store, but this I do know: It is much easier to fly by the seat of your pants when you’re not battling a headwind!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Focus

  1. Mommala says:

    Wow Robyn! As always you speak from your heart and your head. Life definitely is a challenge and I know that even when times are tough for you, you will always come out on top. We all go through lifes difficult times and it sometimes seems like you’re in a tunnel with no light at the end, and then all of a sudden you see that flicker of light and on you go to achieve great things. You are a winner and lots of us can certainly learn from you too. I love you bunches and am so proud, every day of the wonderful person you have become. Keep writing because you have lots to say and important things to say.

    Like

  2. Laura S. Farnsworth says:

    Awesome Article!!! I love to write as well…Keep going…Keep sharing…You never know how you might give some one a little push to try to Focus their life….God Bless.

    Like

  3. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com. says:

    Great post..Wishing you success.jalal

    Like

Leave a Reply

