Lesson or Blessing

“We met for a reason. Either you’re a blessing or a lesson.” I recall having a conversation with a very dear friend about the fact that when you meet someone it’s either for a reason, a season, or a lifetime. I think that’s true as well, but lately I’ve found that most of the people I meet turn out to be either a blessing or a lesson. The frustrating part is that this determination cannot be made upon meeting someone but rather after the fact. I go into a relationship or encounter with a new friend optimistically, but it’s only later when I look back with eyes wide open that I am able to see things clearly. Sometimes my optimism is validated while other times I find myself reeling from an unexpected heartache. I do believe that I learn something from both experiences, but I will admit it is usually the negative that sinks in faster and has more staying power.

Letting my guard down is getting more and more difficult lately as I seem to be meeting more lessons than blessings. Being able to count on someone is very important to me. Being able to trust what they say as the truth is paramount. When their true personality is revealed to be less than honorable it causes that emotional barrier to slowly inch its way back up. This causes an internal struggle as I am typically a very open and positive person.

Does this mean that with every person I meet I’m going to go through this potential turmoil again and again? That’s a very high possibility, but I refuse to let them win by turning me into a pessimist. I will take the lesson I’ve learned from that experience and move forward. I will wipe away the tears and step up to the plate again hoping for something other than a swing and a miss. This will be my way of turning even the hardest lesson into a blessing in disguise.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lesson or Blessing

  1. philip469 says:

    great to here you’re moving forward

    Like

  2. Anna says:

    I know how you feel. I have trust issues, too. It sounds like you’re a loyal person and loyal people have a hard time because they want to know that the people they’re being loyal to are being loyal to them. I just recently had to realize that while I can’t explicitly trust a lot of people, I can trust God to help me with the situations that come up. Because He’s always trustworthy.

    Like

  3. First off I want to say that this post really touched me on a lot of levels, thank you so much for putting this down. Second I want to say, that I have also met more lessons than blessings lately and it is a real struggle. The thing that keeps my head up is that eventually a blessing will come along that will make all the other lessons worth while. Again, thank you sooooooo much for this.

    Like

    • robynthorn says:

      I’m so glad this spoke to you. As I mentioned at the end, it’s all in how you look at it. A lesson can be seen as a blessing as well. What’s important is that we realize that everyone is dealing with some sort of struggle. That’s just how life is. Always remember that the pendulum will eventually swing the other way and the blessings will soon outweigh the lessons. Hang in there, and thanks again for your insight. It made my day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

