The Rubber Band

I’m up way past my bedtime, but as a writer, whether it’s a blog or choreographing a Zumba routine, when you find yourself inspired it’s best to let the creative juices flow.  I spent this evening getting my place ready for my niece who is spending the weekend with me. I’m so excited to see her and I know we’re going to have a blast! It was as I was cleaning that I realized something. I am a rubber band.

Sure, that’s a strange thing to say, but bear with me as I attempt to explain this statement. During our lives we all have our ups and downs. We have moments when we feel like our feet aren’t even touching the ground because something amazing has happened. Other times we find ourselves on the opposite end of the spectrum and it takes every ounce of strength just to get out of bed in the morning. What I observed tonight in my own personality is that regardless of how thin I’m stretched emotionally, I always snap back to who I am naturally. I believe that person to be an optimist. I look for the good in others or in a situation. I hope for the best outcome for me or for a friend or loved one. I know that everyone has their struggles and it may be my encouraging words that come at just the right time to prevent their band from snapping.

Here’s wishing you discover your rubber band as well. If yours was stretched too thin too many times and its ends have frayed, then I implore you to tie them together and look at it in a new light.  Consider it a battle wound. Consider it a reminder of harder times. Consider it proof that you’re stronger than you thought you could be. Other parts of your band may feel weak, but not that knot. That part represents a lesson that didn’t defeat you. It allowed you to realize that regardless of the number of knots in your band, it is the knots that make you whole.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Rubber Band

  1. Pingback: The Happy Hypothesis | Thorny Issues

Leave a Reply

