A Step In The Right Direction

It’s amazing the things we take for granted. I try my hardest not to fall victim to that, but I guess it’s just human nature. Today, after a little over seven weeks of having to be sedentary due to a badly sprained ankle, I was able to get back to the gym for some light cardio. It made me realize all the things I had taken for granted and didn’t realize I missed until tonight.

For the last few weeks I have been in a boot, unable to even wear a shoe on my right foot. I’d get home and take my only shoe off and then rest my injured foot. A few days would pass and I’d notice that I’d have to put away my shoes that were left out. The funny thing was that it would only be left shoes. Today I got to put on gym shoes…a left AND a right shoe!! It felt good. It felt normal.

As I walked down from my second-floor apartment to my car I was able to take normal steps as I descended the staircase. For a while now I’ve been taking it one step at a time and making sure I don’t lose my balance. Just as it did with the gym shoes, this too felt good. It felt normal.

I climbed into my car and felt something I hadn’t felt in a while. As I started to pull out of the parking spot I realized I could feel the gas pedal under my foot. When I first put the boot on I had some difficulty adjusting to the fact that I couldn’t just tilt my foot the way I had always done. I had to press down with my whole foot whether I was accelerating or decelerating. That wasn’t the case any longer. The car responded the way it should. Things were starting to get back to the way they had always been.

At the gym I stopped in to see my Zumba class that I would normally have been teaching. Most didn’t recognize me at first since I wasn’t in pigtails. It was pretty funny to see the looks on their faces when they finally realized who I was. The class started, so I made my way over to the elliptical. I carefully climbed on and began the first cardio workout I had had in a while. I didn’t want to overdo it, so I only spent about 30 minutes on there. Honestly, I’d much rather be walking outside in the heat than being stuck on a stationary piece of equipment, but tonight I was happy to be doing anything fitness-wise that involved the use of my right foot.

By no means am I expecting to be healed by next week, but as of now, every literal step forward is a figurative step forward for me. The boot got the boot today and I couldn’t be happier! They say you never knew how bad you felt until you feel better. I have no idea who “they” is, but “they” is right!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Step In The Right Direction

  1. Mommala says:

    I’m so excited that you’re able to take that boot off. I’m so, so glad you went to the orthopedic doctor today. Take it easy. I love you Robyn. Your writing always makes me smile or makes me think. You have such a talent. You need to write more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

