Inspiration

I got inspired to write last night, but as I pondered the topic I realized that I just wasn’t feeling it. My tired eventually caught up with me and I soon fell asleep. Even as I’m sitting here now, I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted to write about…when it hit me – Inspiration. I find it a bit funny to be inspired by inspiration, but I guess stranger things have happened. What’s interesting about writing, or creating anything from nothing, is that sometimes it happens organically, with little effort. Other times it feels as if you might as well get ready for the long haul because this ain’t gonna be pretty.

As most of my family, friends, and readers know, I have been teaching Zumba for over two years now. It’s something I’ve really enjoyed, and it’s a great form of exercise as well. Part of my job involves writing choreography for a song chosen either by me or my class. Most of the time I’d say I am able to successfully finish the choreography without too much difficulty. The exception to this is when I hit one extreme or the other. I recall at one point, while trying for about a month or two to choreograph a warm-up to a particular song I really liked, I finally managed to finish it. On the flip side, I also remember being outside in my driveway when I started a new reggaeton, which is sort of like hip hop for those not familiar with Latin music. I was shocked that this one practically wrote itself. I never know which it’s gonna be when I start, so this process constantly keeps me on my toes.

Writing a blog is a bit different. First of all it’s a two-dimensional process. I also don’t have to go out searching for a song that I like. I could be drying my hair when a thought pops into my head, and I build on that. I’ll admit that there are many times a great idea surfaces and I practically write the whole thing in my head. Sometimes I’m smart enough to go type everything up right then or at least make a note as to what my idea was. More times than not, unfortunately, I think that I’ll be able to remember something so clever only to have it vanish the same way you forget a dream from the night before. There’s no telling how many great ideas of mine were lost because I was either in a hurry to get somewhere or because I underestimated my mental capacity for holding an idea in my head.

Regardless of the outlet, I find it interesting that people find inspiration in many places. It could be a beautiful harvest moon on a dark stretch of highway after long road trip that gives you that extra push to make it home. It could be the unexpected passing of a beloved celebrity who touched the lives of so many that helps you realize it’s time to take that vacation you’ve been putting off until the time is “right.” It could simply be the look on the face of a child who sees the first sprouts from a seed pushing its way through the top layer of potting soil that motivates you to plant a garden full of the fruits and vegetables you love.

I’ll be honest…this post took way longer to write than I expected it would. I guess it was one of the two extremes to which I earlier referred. My hope is that maybe, just maybe it will inspire someone in an unexpected way, but that’s what’s so great about the creative process. Everyone interprets something based on their conceived perception. Here’s hoping you find something to inspire you this week…even if it’s not this blog. 😉

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

