From Nothing to Something

Several times over the last few weeks I have come across the movie Ghostbusters on one of the various channels on TV. I can’t help but think of my brother when I watch this movie as we’ve done many a “quote-a-thon” back and forth via Facebook because of this very movie. Towards the end of the movie the Ghostbusters are asked by Gozer to choose the form of the “destructor.” Basically, unless they cleared their minds completely, the “destructor” would take the form of whatever they thought of in the coming moments. Sadly, poor Ray couldn’t stop Mr. Stay Puft, a seemingly harmless mascot for the Stay Puft brand, from just popping into his brain. Because of this, the city of New York was invaded by a 100-foot tall marshmallow man who was soon thereafter roasted and defeated. This got me to thinking about the idea or challenge of clearing one’s mind. Can you really think of nothing?

What is nothing? Is it the absence of something?  Some people think nothing would just be blackness, but that, by definition, is something. I’m not sure my brain can really grasp the concept of nothing. We’ve lived our lives learning names for everything. I read recently that they just discovered a new part of the body located in the knee. Before it was discovered was it nothing? I’m sure the person who injured theirs didn’t think so.

So what do we do when our minds get so jumbled up that we would give anything to turn it off and think of nothing? I know this has happened to me many times. I’ve talked with a multitude of friends who have dealt with this same affliction. It’s as if we just want the world to stop for a few minutes…or hours…or days and let our minds rest. Some people find that just sleeping is enough, but if you’ve known me for any amount of time, you’ve probably heard me tell a crazy story about a dream I’ve had and how detailed they can be. That goes to show that my mind won’t even shut up when I’m asleep!

What I’ve learned is that it is not always what I’m thinking that I need to change but rather what I’m doing at the time. Sometimes just relaxing with a good friend, swirling a glass of wine and talking is enough to calm the waters. We all need to remember that life is meant to be enjoyed. I’m not saying it’s going to be “sunshine and roses” all the time, but it could be as simple as taking the time to appreciate the sunshine and roses that have gone unnoticed that would make all the difference.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Nothing to Something

  1. Mommala says:

    Oh my gosh! I was just wishing this morning at 6:00 a.m. that I could turn my mind off and go back to sleep. I had gotten up to let Shana out, but when I got into bed, things just started churning and the thoughts running through my head just kept on coming. So of course I decided to get up instead of just lying there wishing I could sleep. I guess I should be thankful that I was able to get up and have a good cup of coffee. Love you Robyn !

    Like

  2. robynthorn says:

    It’s amazing how many people have the same thing happen to them. I am thankful every day that my family you, me, and the rest of the family are able to get out of bed. Love you Mommala!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

