Have you got the time?

“You’re an interesting species. An interesting mix. You’re capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares. You feel so lost, so cut off, so alone, only you’re not. See, in all our searching, the only thing we’ve found that makes the emptiness bearable, is each other.” – Contact

I found myself listening to a song on my way home from work today that I hadn’t heard in a while. The main reason was because it somehow got deleted from my music library, so I had to purchase it. The song is “While I Still Got the Time” by Darius Rucker. In the song, he sings,

I’m gonna work like I don’t need the money.
I’m gonna laugh like I’m not afraid to cry.
I’m gonna dance like nobody’s watching.
I’m gonna love while I still got the time.

There’s something about these words that ring true with me every time I hear them. So often we lose sight of what’s important. We get caught up in unnecessary drama or we focus on the negative and forget just how fortunate we are. I’m grateful for every day I can wake up, walk on my own two feet through my apartment in which I can afford to live, and prepare for the day ahead…even if it means I’m going to practice the fine art of holding down the couch.

I never know who will get in touch with me during the day, but I’ve found many times their call or text or email comes at just the right time. In my case, it can mean a visit from a dearly departed friend through a dream that brightens my day. It can be the advice from a sibling that helps point me in a new direction that I never would have headed towards otherwise. It could be the person who answers the phone with a contagious smile in their voice that snaps me out of my trance.

You see, as the quote above states, it is one another that makes the emptiness bearable. We are social creatures. I was recently watching a movie with a very dear friend. In the movie, the main character was a young man who decided to give up all the luxuries we’ve grown so accustomed to and travel alone. What he witnesses is stunningly beautiful. It was then my dear friend stated that all those experiences are bittersweet because he has no one to share them with. It was as if his journey was the fallen tree in the forest. It made a sound, but there was no one around to hear it.

It is now a new year, and with a new year comes a new beginning. We all know our time here is borrowed. It is what we do with our time that matters. I can’t speak for anyone else, but I intend to make the most of my time while I still got the time.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have you got the time?

  1. Cookie says:

    Robyn, when did you become so wise. You amaze me and bring to light things that I’ve forgotten, How lucky it is to be able to get up in the morning, get out of bed, have a cup of coffee and enjoy life. As I read your first paragraph, I kept thinking have heard that before but where. Then I saw that you noted it was from the movie Contact. I’m with you. I’m going to make the most of my time while I still have the time. I love you.
    Mommala

    Like

Leave a Reply

