Transforming Fear

I had my TV on the other day but wasn’t really watching anything in particular. I guess I just wanted some white noise. It turned out that the movie Transformers was on, and since it’s one of those movies you can “watch” without really having to think, I figured it was a good distraction. I’ve seen the movie plenty of times, but there is one line that’s stuck with me and is ironically what inspired this blog. Sam Witwicky is standing next to Mikaela after just having a conversation of sorts with his car-turned-Autobot, Bumblebee. As it transforms back into his Camaro, the passenger side door is opened and they’re staring at the car trying to figure out what to do. When Makaela wonders where the car will take them, Sam says, “Fifty years from now when you’re looking back on your life, don’t you wanna say you had the guts to get in the car?”

Like I said…it’s stuck with me.

So many times I’ve decided not to do something I wanted to deep down simply out of fear. Sure, I’m afraid of heights and quite claustrophobic, however the fear to which I’m referring doesn’t necessarily have to do with me getting hurt physically, but rather emotionally. I’ll admit that on occasion my fear is justified and it poses as my emotional bodyguard. On the other hand, there are times that it’s just an irrational annoyance that’s trying to keep me from having a little fun or experiencing something truly amazing.

Over the last few years I’ve basically been flying by the seat of my pants when it comes to the direction my life will take. I will be the first to admit that I may not always make the right decision or even the smartest one, but I find when I make a decision by setting fear aside I rarely have regrets. Sure I may get hurt in the end, but I always learn something from the experience. I guess this new mantra of overcoming my fear will turn out to be the transformation I need.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

