Sometimes I stop and wonder

Spend any time with a child and you’ll find yourself being asked the craziest questions. I love the utter fascination they have with everything they experience. It’s always captivated me how a kid’s mind works, but I’m also finding that my brain can give them a run for their money from time to time. Every so often, random thoughts pop into my head, and I often wonder if others have similar moments.

Tonight, while peeling a kiwi, I was thinking back to the avocado I had earlier today and thought, “It sure would be weird if all foods of the same color tasted the same.” Seriously though, what if an orange and a carrot tasted alike?…or a steak and a piece of chocolate?…or a blueberry and…ummm…something else blue. Now that I think about it, there aren’t a lot of naturally occurring blue foods out there.

That thought reminds me of a question I was once asked on a job application. It said, “If blue was a breakfast food, how would it taste?” Yeah…ummmm…let me ponder that for a bit. As I just mentioned, there aren’t a lot of naturally blue foods, so you gotta love a question with no “right” answer.

I guess that defines life really. There are no right or wrong answers, just decisions to be made. Your life is like a “Choose Your Own Adventure” book. You’re presented with two choices. Whichever decision you make determines the path your life will take.

I find it sad though that as we get older we lose the outlook on life that we had as kids. Just tonight I watched a video of a little girl named Kayden who was experiencing rain for the first time. The utter joy she showed is something that is rarely seen in an adult. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t expect to see an adult standing outside in the rain squealing in delight unless you’re in an area that is in a severe drought.

What I mean is that we often take things for granted as an adult. We don’t stop to smell the flowers or even look more closely at them to appreciate how complex they really are. We worry too much about our first-world problems like when you don’t realize the time changed on your cable TV guide and you spend several minutes looking at shows that just ended. This afternoon, instead of listening to the TV, I got to listen to the sound of rain and thunder outside. It was something I hadn’t heard in a while, and I found myself stopping to appreciate the comforting sounds. I wonder how many people did the same thing.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes I stop and wonder

  1. Cookie says:

    Beautiful thoughts to think about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

