Chasing the Moon

Last night on my way home from teaching my Zumba class I was awestruck as I saw the most beautiful moon in the sky ahead of me. I know I missed seeing the blood moon in the early morning hours, but the view before me was breathtaking. Normally after my class I’ll head home, get cleaned up, and relax a bit before bed. Something about seeing that moon in all its beauty created a burst of energy in me, and I knew I had to capture it.

As soon as I got back to my place, I hurried inside, grabbed my camera, and ran back downstairs to my car in search of the perfect spot to do some moon gazing. It wasn’t long before I found the perfect location with an unobstructed view. With camera in hand, I found a spot on the side of a retaining wall and quickly started taking pictures of that magnificent moon.

The weather was perfect for 9:00 pm. There was a gentle breeze and not a cloud in the sky. For a few minutes I was so focused on making sure I got a great shot that I became oblivious to my surroundings. After all, I was alone in a parking lot near a wooded area not far from my place…and it was getting late in the evening. The area was well-lit, but I just got lost in the moment. (Don’t worry Mommala, I survived.)

I took a few more pictures and then I felt the subtle touch of the wind against my cheek. It was as if I was snapped out of my lunar trance and realized where I was, what I was doing, and how very blessed I was. I took some deep breaths and just took in the moment.

I have had some rough times lately and am working through all that life has thrown at me, but I’m finding strength where I didn’t think there was any. Mother Nature has always had a way of keeping me grounded while showing me that I need to slow down, stop running through life, and take a step back. Sure, most times the signs she sends are a bit less obvious, but last night it was bright and beautiful led me right where I needed to be.

Moon 1

 

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chasing the Moon

  1. I love living where we do surrounded by nature. The moon here tonight is bright and beautiful as well..lighting up the yard and farm. Beautiful!!

    Like

  2. Mommala says:

    I’m glad you were okay. Next time you get the urge to snap some photos, be careful and safe. Love you! 😍❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

