Back in the Saddle

For a while I’d felt like life was passing me by. I can remember back 25 years ago, when I was in my mid-teens, that I never figured things would turn out this way. I guess that’s what makes life interesting though. You never know what’s around the next corner. Over the years, I realized that I missed out on a lot of experiences due to fear. Maybe it was fear of looking silly or failing. Maybe it was fear of stepping too far outside my comfort zone. However, as a very dear friend has told me many times, “Growth doesn’t occur inside your comfort zone.”

I recently tested this hypothesis. Last month I started a new job, and I’m happy to report that I’m really enjoying it. It’s extremely challenging, I’m surrounded by amazing people, and I feel like it’s a place I can finally set down some long-term roots. I know switching jobs can be a very stressful process, but they’ve really made it as easy on me as possible. It’s pretty low stress, and I have a feeling I’m being harder on myself than they would ever be. Now that the job/career concerns are out of the way I can focus on other aspects of my long-term future.

The next phase in my “master plan” (insert evil laugh here) includes changing my living situation. Prior to my divorce in 2012, I moved into the apartment where I currently reside. Don’t get me wrong…it’s a very nice place, but to put it bluntly, I HATE SHARING WALLS!!! I also miss being able to plant flowers or walk as loudly as I want without bothering anyone. I have already started the steps to find a new place, and before my 40th birthday this November I will move out of here into a house come hell or high water!!! It’s time I take back control and make things happen.

Something else I’ve realized I’ve needed is a vacation. I’m not talking about a week-long trip to Costa Rica or anything (although I’d gladly go if someone wanted to foot the bill…and I could somehow get time off from my new job), but a weekend trip to the coast with some of my closest girlfriends is just what the doctor ordered. It’s been almost a year since my last vacation and it’s long overdue. Too often we forget how much we need to take time for ourselves and just relax. Life can get pretty hectic. Mine isn’t showing any signs of slowing, so I’m fitting in time for me when I can. We all have to remember that life is meant to be enjoyed!!

As the year progresses, I’m looking forward to shedding a bit more of the fear and getting more comfortable outside of my comfort zone. Maybe if I make that the rule as opposed to the exception I’ll find a myriad of new experiences await me. Sure there are times when I just want to be a couch potato, but I am determined that this is the year I’ll be a couch potato with a different view outside my window. It’s time to make things happen!!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Back in the Saddle

  1. Mommala says:

    You go girl! You are awesome and on the right track!……..
    Love you,
    Mommala

    Like

  2. Love this!! Glad you are moving forward! Love to you!

    Like

  3. Love to read inspirational posts by strong women!! Keep it up!!

    Like

  4. Alesha says:

    SOOO Proud of you honey! Small steps are still steps and as long as they are in the right direction, they still count! Onward and upward pretty lady! XOXO

    Like

  5. Sheri (Foltz) Brackman says:

    One of the best things I ever did was buy my house. I loved it, I loved that it was mine, and it gave me a great feeling of being a ‘real grownup’.

    Like

    • robynthorn says:

      Well I have owned several homes, but never by myself. Unfortunately, I still can’t afford to buy one where I’d like to live, but my friend and I are going to rent one together. It’s the first step forward, and it’s teaching me patience…yet again. 😉

      Like

  6. Kristy says:

    HIGH FIVE!!! ✋✋

    Like

Leave a Reply

