Passing Time

My, how time flies! It was one year ago today that I made that fateful catch of a football that resulted in me rolling my ankle only three days before a much-needed vacation. I’m happy to report that I haven’t had any additional injuries since then, but it still gives me trouble every now and then. I was recently told by someone that an ankle injury like that will never fully heal and I’ll always have weakness in that foot. GREAT!

I’m not sure why I remember dates like this, but for some reason they just stick. Did this quality make me an amazing history student?! NOPE! Couldn’t stand the subject…sorry to all those history buffs out there. I guess it only works when the date is significant to my life directly.

I do the same thing in regards to songs. There are a good number of them that I can probably tell you the month and year it was released based on what was going on in my life. I can remember my junior year driving to Sam Houston High School in Arlington for Winterguard practice with a car full of girls listening to “More Than Words” by Extreme on the radio. Then there was the night at the spillway in San Angelo with a group of friends my freshman year of college when “Two Steps Behind” by Def Leppard was playing. I still think that song and “Every Breath You Take” by The Police were about a stalker.

I wonder what songs I’m listening to now that will stick in my head years down the road. Hmmm….

As my friend put it so eloquently, “last year was the longest year that flew by.” This year is proving to be quite different. I can’t believe it’s already June. It really is odd how relative time is though. Most times I wish I had Horace Slughorn’s hourglass from Harry Potter. The sand in it ran accordingly to the quality of the conversation. That means if it was good conversation, the sand would run slower. So many times I wish I could slow things down and make the moments last or speed things up so the moment will pass. It’s funny how what we want and what actually happens is the complete opposite.

All this talk of time makes me realize I need to get the battery changed in my watch. I guess that’s one way to stop time!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Passing Time

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Time flies when you don’t realize it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

