Diamond in the Rough

I’m a firm believer that sometimes a message is put in front of you at just the right time allowing you to truly receive it the way it was intended. Earlier today, I saw an image that said, “Never waste your time trying to explain who you are to people who are committed to misunderstanding you.” That struck a chord with me as it helped bring closure to something I had been struggling with for a while. I’ll admit that things like this happen fairly often in my world, so I’ve learned to be open to those messages when they appear before me.

We all deal with struggles of our own. I know I do. More often than not, those around me are unaware of the depth of what I’m dealing with, as I do so privately. I’ve learned that all I can be is who I am and people will either accept me or they won’t. After all, have you ever tried to convince someone that you’re not crazy without sounding crazy? Yeah…good luck with that one! If I were you, I’d refer to the above quote for help with that situation.

The last two years have been quite an adjustment for me. I’m getting more comfortable with everything, but every so often something sneaks up on me. It’s times like this that a friend will say something to me that makes all the difference. What was interesting today was the very same quote that had such a profound impact on me seemed relevant to a friend of mine who was dealing with some personal issues of her own. Since it helped me so much, I decided to pay it forward. The conversation went like this:

Friend (after reading the quote I sent to her):
“Oh wow, thank you!! You are such a true and genuine friend and person.”

Me:
“Thanks! Means more than you could possibly imagine.”

Friend:
“You’re definitely a gem in this crazy and cruel world.”

Me:
“Ditto doll!! Us gems have to stick together and make sure no one takes away our sparkle!!”

Like I said, sometimes you just hear exactly what you need to hear at just the right time. Today was proof that, along with chocolate, friends are the best invention ever!!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Divorce, Life Lessons, Random Thoughts, Starting Anew and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Diamond in the Rough

  1. So true and well put!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

