Finding Comfort in a Blinker

I had a quiet ride home tonight as I watched the wipers clear the raindrops from my windshield. I followed my normal route occasionally changing lanes when necessary. I guess I’m one of the rare drivers who actually use their blinker. As I listened to the steady metronome, I found it brought me back to my childhood. Most people wouldn’t think a simple turn signal would do that, and I’ll admit that it surprised me as well.

When I was a young girl, I would often ride in the back seat of my parents’ car (or station wagon, depending on how far back we go) heading towards home late in the evening. I would be drifting in and out of sleep as my dad made sure we got home safely. I can remember sitting there with my eyes closed listening to the sound of the road and the occasional noise from the blinker. I used to play a game where I’d try to see if I could figure out where I was based on the direction we turned. Every so often I’d fall asleep, but there was something I really enjoyed about the quiet drive with my family that gave me a sense of security knowing I was in good hands.

Most of the time while driving now, I can be found doing my best impression of what the game show “Dancing in the Car” would look like. I assure you…I’d win that one every time! Plus, someone has to entertain the masses on the ridiculous commute we must endure each day. Sometimes though, after a rough day of impersonating a sponge at work, I’ll drive in silence on my commute home just listening to the steady sounds that accompany my movement across the lanes of traffic. Who knew you could find comfort in a blinker?

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding Comfort in a Blinker

  1. Dad says:

    Robyn. Thanks for finding another use for the turn signals. If only everyone would use them. Great story as always.

    Like

  2. cherylpond says:

    I too find the blinker comforting, not only does it give me mind reading powers in the fact that I know what other drivers are thinking IF they utilize their blinker, but it often takes me back in time. I remember, long before I understood the mechanics and conventions if driving, sitting at the top of the biggest hill in my neighborhood. If the blinker blinked right then we would head down the hill to my grandparent’s house. If the blinker blinked left we stayed on top of the hill and headed to our house. I always thought that the car determined the destination rather than the driver.

    Like

Leave a Reply

