A change of scenery

I consider myself a very organized person. For the most part, if you were to ask me where something is at my home I could tell you pretty immediately. I tend to place things where they make the most sense. For example, I have my glasses near my refrigerator because that is where my beverages will be kept which means I don’t have to go far for a receptacle in which to pour said beverage. I always think of these things when moving into a new place because I don’t want to have to rearrange everything later on because their location is somewhat of an inconvenience. This is just one of the many tasks that I burden myself with when moving, and I will be doing just that in less than two weeks.

I’m the type of person who enjoys checking things off lists. I guess it gives me a sense of accomplishment. With an impending move approaching, I’ve been making a checklist and adding to it as the weeks have passed. I just know I’m going to forget something, so I’m trying to keep track of as many tasks as possible so I don’t let something slip through the cracks. I’ve collected a good number of boxes thanks to friends and work, but I really have no idea how many I’ll need. You see, I don’t really plan on packing my things until the week I move. The more I think about it, the more I realize that I’m going to need to continue to use most items that require packing therefore pushing back the daunting task of actually putting my belongings into boxes. I wouldn’t say I’m practicing the fine art of procrastination, but rather I don’t want to live out of boxes for the next two weeks just so I can get a jump-start.

Packing is just the tip of the iceberg. Along with moving my belongings, there are a myriad of other things I’m responsible for taking care of before my deadline arrives. The tasks to which I’m referring include:

  • Paying my last month’s rent
  • Paying my first month’s rent
  • Cancelling my electricity
  • Making sure my electricity is turned on at my new place
  • Switching my renter’s insurance and getting a declaration page printed out
  • Updating my auto insurance
  • Updating my driver’s license
  • Updating my banking information
  • Updating all of my millions of credit cards/debit cards/department store cards
  • Transferring my mail
  • Switching my cable service

These are just the normal tasks that go along with moving. Of course I couldn’t make it that simple. I have to add some additional important items to my list such as:

  • Scheduling the delivery of a washer, dryer, and couch that were recently purchased
  • Scheduling of my old couch to be picked up by new owner (my nephew)
  • Getting paint and paint supplies because I’m done living in a place with white walls
  • Making sure I have plenty of shelf paper so the kitchen and bathroom are prepped and ready to unload boxes
  • Figuring out how to be in two places at once because the movers are coming the same day that the washer, dryer, and couch are being delivered…not to mention I have no idea when the cable will be installed

I could keep listing more things, but it hurts my brain to think of all I have to do in the next two weeks. Because I’m going to paint before I move in any furniture, I realized little things I’ll need to make sure I have such as toilet paper (which would suck to forget), a garbage can & garbage bags.

I do have one tradition that I started with my current place that I’ll be continuing to my new place and it came from the movie St. Elmo’s Fire. In the movie, Wendy, played by Mare Winningham, finally breaks free of her parents’ control and moves into her own place. It’s the first place she’s ever lived by herself. As she’s talking to Billy, played by Rob Lowe, she says this to him:

“Ya wanna know what’s great? Last night I woke up in the middle of the night to make myself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich… and ya know…it was my kitchen. It was my refrigerator. It was my apartment… and it was the BEST peanut butter and jelly sandwich that I have had in my entire life.”

Sure it may sound silly, but after getting divorced in 2012, my current apartment is the first place I’ve ever lived by myself. The first thing my mom and I ate when we came over here after I signed my lease and got my keys was a peanut butter and jelly sandwich…and ya know…it really was the BEST peanut butter and jelly sandwich that I had had in my entire life. The day I sign my lease for my new place will be the night I paint. This time it’ll be just me. I guess at least I don’t have to worry about what I’ll have for dinner that night.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Divorce, Life Lessons, Random Thoughts, Starting Anew and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A change of scenery

  1. Mommala says:

    You are very precise doubt where you put your things. Remember the time I tried to put your sweetener in the wrong place in your pantry, and you turned to me and said, “mom it doesn’t go there.” I wish I was more like you, so I would remember where my keys and my cell phone wear all the time.
    I can’t wait to see your new place. I know it’s going to be a lot of hard work getting moved, but it’ll all be worth it. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

