Passing Time

Time flies. It’s about time. There’s not enough time in the day. It seems that we all have time on our minds, especially since we just lost an hour due to Daylight Saving Time…well most of the nation at least. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately. I think back to where I’ve been personally, professionally, and even geographically, and I often catch myself wondering where I’ll be in another year. What new friends will I have made? Will I travel to any new places? More importantly, what new lessons will I have learned? That’s what fascinates me about time – the possibilities are infinite.

Now I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a geek. I had a great time celebrating Super Pi Day on March 14th. For those who aren’t aware (or who don’t geek out over stuff like this as I do), this was the last time for 100 years that 3/14/15 will show up on a calendar. I even snapped a picture on my iPhone at 9:26 am. That’s right…3.1415926!!! See…I’m a geek!! 🙂

I had an even crazier, almost star-struck moment a week ago when a replica of the Back To The Future DeLorean pulled up next to me at the gas station. I was squealing with excitement as I saw the flux capacitor fluxing, the time circuits working, and even the Mr. Fusion affixed to the back. It was absolutely AMAZING!!! I snapped several pics as I had the greatest conversation with the owner, his girlfriend or wife, and their adorable Boston Terrier, Tesla (GREAT NAME!!!!!!!!!). It wasn’t until a few days later that I had a crazy time epiphany based on this chance encounter.

See if you can follow me on this one. FYI…you MUST picture me saying this with my eyes WIDE OPEN and my eyebrows raised as high as my facial muscles will allow.

WHAT IF that was the ACTUAL time-traveling DeLorean from 1985 that had come 30 years into the future…just like in the movie?!?! Maybe they’ve already had some experiences with Texas weather changing on a dime, as it did in the second movie of the trilogy. When they go back to 1985, they decide it might be interesting to pitch their movie idea to some people in Hollywood. The movie gets made using their DeLorean as the prototype for the time machine and they simply change the name and breed of the dog to protect the identity of the real one. Now OF COURSE the scene where they meet some crazy, star-struck woman at a gas station gets cut because in the grand scheme of things it really is a blip on the overall visit to the future. Nonetheless, it is TOTALLY possible!!!

…or is it?!?!

I’ve long been a fan of all things geek. This includes astronomy, astrophysics, and, of course, time travel. For several years I’ve listened to a podcast with Neil deGrasse Tyson called StarTalk. For those who aren’t familiar with him, he is an astrophysicist and the Director of the Hayden Planetarium in New York City. The man is brilliant, and he seems to have a child-like fascination with how the universe works that I can totally relate to as I feel the same way. I was listening to a podcast just last night and they were discussing the idea of UFO’s, aliens, and time travel. As I was pondering his commentary, he said something that blew my mind when it comes to time travel. It was something I had never even THOUGHT of as being a challenge but which would make the possibility more of an impossibility in my eyes. It’s one thing to travel through time, but you’re also traveling through space. Just because you go back 30 years, it doesn’t mean the Earth is going to be in the same relative location as it was before. You have to remember, we are not just moving around the sun, but we are moving through the Milky Way galaxy. If you travel back in space and time, or spacetime, you’re at risk of ending up in a wall, on the other side of the Earth, or even out in space itself. I don’t even want to try to contemplate the math on that one!

Sure, we’re all the mercy of a clock in one way or another. We check it when we wake up, it mocks us when we’re running late to work or an appointment, and it seems to speed up when we’re enjoying ourselves. Despite our best efforts to slow things down, time keeps ticking away. It’s as if we were given a bank account and in it are the seconds, minutes, and hours of our lives. We can’t make deposits, only withdrawals. I guess the real question is, since we know the account will eventually be depleted, what is the best way to spend our time.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Passing Time

  1. Mommala says:

    As always you have very interesting thoughts! You need to do some more writing. I love reading your blog.

    Like

  2. Zane says:

    Yes, I too discovered at some point that time travel is actually space time travel and that in order to successfully end up when you wanted, you also have to end up where you wanted. This would take some amazing calculations considering some estimates have our galaxy and therefore our planet moving at a rate over 2 million mph.
    But hey, maybe because space time is warped around large objects, the pull of the object would continue to keep you in place regardless of the direction or rate you travel in time. And there you go, it is now possible again. You’re welcome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

