It’s The Little Things

As a single woman, I find myself on occasion alone and lost in thought. This could be while driving, during an afternoon walk, or while at home relaxing on the couch. I’m sure that normal daydreaming is healthy, and I’ll admit that I’ve done my share. Every so often I notice something somewhat significant that puts a smile on my face for the simple fact that sometimes things just go your way. Let me explain.

After my Zumba class a week ago, I was headed home to relax. Thanks to Daylight Saving Time, it now stays lighter later in the evening which is nice, however it does pose a challenge in one sense. Normally, before we spring forward, I leave the gym and it is usually dark out as the sun has already set by 7:00 pm. Now when I leave I get to enjoy some sunlight for a short time. Because of this shift, sunny days can prove to be blinding when trying to see your way out of a crowded parking lot. What put a smile on my face this time was the fact that despite the sun’s valiant attempt to keep me from seeing what was ahead, my car, Gandalf, stepped in and very strategically used the part of the car between my front windshield and passenger side window to keep me safe. I thought how fortuitous it was that my car was in the perfect position to provide just the barrier I needed at that exact moment.

Now we’ve all felt the frustration of trying to figure out how to fold a stupid fitted sheet. I finally mastered that thanks to YouTube. What I have NOT mastered is how to figure out, as I am about to put the freakin’ thing on my bed after washing it, which is the short side and which is the long side. I flip that bleepin’ thing around and around and STILL get it wrong. I finally managed to get it right on the first try, for ONCE, and I thought how glad I was that I finally mastered that task…well at least until the next time I wash my sheets.

Thanks to of the age of electronics, I am now privy to the joys of the USB cord. I think my stats would show that out of 100 times, I probably insert the end in the correct way on the first try MAYBE once. There really is a certain satisfaction to getting it right the first time. As I was syncing up my iPhone the other day, I picked up the USB cord and, with a bit of trepidation, I neared the port and found it went RIGHT IN!! SCORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now, this one has only happened once in the 25 years since I started driving. (HOLY CRAP!! 25 YEARS?!?!) Last summer, I had the misfortune of getting my beloved Gandalf backed into in a parking lot. Because of this, I ended up driving a rental car for a week or so. During this time, I got to witness something that made my OCD jump for joy! While waiting in the left-hand turn lane I noticed that the blinker of the car in front of me was in PERFECT synchronicity with the blinker on my rental car!! Now I know that this normally happens, but usually it only lasts a few blinks and then the ugliness of the alternating lights rears its head and it’s back to business as usual. This was not the case this time…believe me…I watched closely to make sure. My heart jumped for joy as I grinned from ear to ear, all the time doubting this would ever again happen and only did so because I was in a rental car.

I hope you find time to notice and appreciate the little things like these. They may seem childish and insignificant to others, but if they put a smile on your face, then they are totally worth it!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s The Little Things

  1. Mommala says:

    You totally put a smile on my face. Now I’ll be looking out for those little things that make me smile.😊❤️

    Like

  2. Birdie says:

    I just found your blog.

    I also have the same problems with bedding. There is a 50/50 chance that I should get the sheet on correctly. So why is it that I get it wrong 90% of the time?

    Like

Leave a Reply

