Short, Sweet, Pointless

The other day I was getting ready for work, and, as part of my normal routine, I grabbed my toothbrush to polish my pearly whites. I was on a bit of autopilot as I proceeded through this task, and as I was in the process of ensuring I covered each tooth, an odd thought popped into my head: Why did I just wet my toothpaste?!

I stood there with a very inquisitive look on my face as I pondered this question. After all, wetting the toothpaste doesn’t really DO anything for it. It’s not like it’s going to suddenly get all lathery because I added a few drops of water. I believe my toothbrush produces that result. I also realized that I always run my toothbrush under the water before applying the toothpaste. Why? Does it need prepping? This whole internal conversation then set off on another tangent…what other things do I do on a regular basis that serve no purpose? I’m curious if anyone else out there does this or if I am isolated in my dampening technique. What weird, useless tasks do you do that have no apparent benefits?

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Short, Sweet, Pointless

  1. Mommala says:

    You are too funny Robyn. I do the same thing too! I don’t know why. Maybe you learned that from me. I am sure there are many things that I do that are useless but I can’t think of anything at the moment. ❤️😍🐝

    Like

  2. Pingback: Showering Thoughts | Thorny Issues

Leave a Reply

