It Won’t Be Like This For Long

Lately I have found myself singing the title of a song by Darius Rucker. The song is “It Won’t Be Like This For Long.” This is quickly becoming my mantra. To say this has been a tough year is an understatement. I know that everyone has their battles they’re fighting, and I’m no different. I also know better than anyone how to put on a happy face when I’m not even close to feeling happy, but as an adult, that’s just what you have to do sometimes. I guess I’m just hoping “what’s to come” will arrive a little sooner than later.

I think right now the battles I’m facing aren’t ones that have a quick resolution. That instant gratification I crave is not a factor, which makes it all the more challenging. Because of this, I am being taught the value of patience…again. It seems I’m constantly learning that lesson over and over. Maybe I should take a hint.

Additionally, I’m being reminded that if I want to see progress I have to step out of my comfort zone, as that is where true change occurs. It is so easy to fall into a routine and an apathetic mindset. This is the barrier I have to break through otherwise my frustration will not cease to ease up anytime soon.

For these reasons, I keep repeating my mantra over and over, and am slowly adding in the Serenity Prayer:

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

It really is amazing how one can find comfort in something so simple, yet so powerful. Of course, being the movie buff I am, I am reminded of a quote from the movie Contact:

You’re an interesting species. An interesting mix. You’re capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares. You feel so lost, so cut off, so alone, only you’re not. See, in all our searching, the only thing we’ve found that makes the emptiness bearable is each other.

Sure, I know that the only person who will take care of me is me. The only person who is responsible for my happiness is me. However, I’ve always felt that angels aren’t just heavenly bodies, but can be personified through our friends and loved ones. I can’t tell you how often I’ve gotten a call or a text from someone at just the right moment to help change my mood. It’s times like these that give me hope and that little push towards the future I’ve envisioned.

Here’s to strength, positive change, and a multitude of angels for us all!

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Won’t Be Like This For Long

  1. Mommala says:

    You are so right. We are responsible for our own happiness but having friends can help us get through some difficult times. I wish I could fix everything for you, Jason and Audrey and John. In my head I know that is not possible but I keep worrying and trying. I don’t think I will ever change. I hope we all have our angels show up when they are needed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

