Definition, please

Sitting on my desk at work is a daily calendar that is filled with facts about left-handers. Being a southpaw, I find it very interesting how differently I view the world around me because there are many things we lefties have to adapt to in order to go on with our day-to-day activities. It actually made me giggle one day when a co-worker commented how cool it was that I could write something down and use the mouse at the same time since I used a different hand for each task. I never really thought much about that, but I guess it can come in handy for sure. Maybe that makes me just a fraction more efficient. (Hey, a girl can dream!) Lately, I’ve been wondering what else in my life has helped define who I am.

First and foremost, what would I be without a name? From the minute we’re born, and in many cases even before we’re born, we are defined by our parents and the sum of their experiences. There are many reasons why a certain name is chosen. In my case, I was named Robyn because of a beloved uncle Bob (Robert) on my mom’s side of the family. Now the choice could have been made to spell my name with an “i” instead of a “y,” but the latter was decided upon and here I am. I rarely meet another person with the same spelling I was given, but when it does happen, it is an instant bonding moment. Yes, I’m weird like that. I am also used to spelling my name for people. It’s what I’ve always done. Sadly enough, I am so used to spelling my name for people, that I once did that for none other than my own mother when giving her my email address. I guess it was just a friendly reminder to her in case she forgot how she spelled my name…when she…ummm…named me.

As many of my friends know, I am originally from a different state in which I currently live. Now keep in mind, I’ve been here since I was six years old, but being that I am currently in Texas, I am constantly referred to as a Yankee by those native to these borders. I don’t have an accent so it makes it difficult for people to place where I’m from. I was even told once that I have a “generic newscaster’s voice.” Uh…thanks? What’s funny is when I travel outside of the state and am asked where I’m from (meaning where I currently live), I usually get a response such as, “Oh really?!” It’s as if I’ve given them a bit of trivia or something. It was funny, several years ago at a wedding up north, I told some family members that it would take me about three hours to get home after I flew back. You see, I had driven to my parents’ house so we could all take the same flight out and only have to rent one car. Their jaws dropped at the thought of a drive that, to them, would take them through several states. Those of us in Texas know that a three-hour drive is no big deal and have probably made such a trip a plethora of times.

Now I want you to pretend for a minute that each of us is our own mix of spices. My ingredients would read something like: Contains left-handed Yankee with a “y” who lives in Texas and missed her calling as a journalist but doesn’t mind a road trip. Come on…who wouldn’t buy THAT?!?! I’d probably name my spice something like Perspectiva de Primavera. It sounds great but simply means Robyn’s perspective. (Sidebar – my Spanish teacher used to call me Primavera since robins come out in the Spring…although that’s only the “i” kind of robins, but close enough I guess.) Now as far as I’m concerned, my P de P spice is the perfect complement for EVERYTHING! Each and every person feels the same way whether they realize it or not. As you could imagine though, my mix doesn’t always go with everyone else’s, but after all, when it comes to life, it’s all about variety. Here’s to us all learning to embrace our “ingredients” and appreciate the subtle and awe-inspiring assortments out there.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Definition, please

  1. Mommala says:

    You are awe inspiring as always! And I love you!!!❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

