In recent days, I’ve spoken with friends and several times the phrase, “Hindsight’s always 20/20,” has come up. It really is interesting when you gain perspective after some time has passed that you can finally see things clearly. We often find ourselves reflecting on what has happened to us only to realize how much we’ve changed or learned. Today, while on my way to work, I had one of those moments and what was reflected back made my heart smile.

What came to mind as I was driving was something I’d read not that long ago. It was a quote from, I believe, Lao Tsu. The saying goes:

If you are depressed, you are living in the past.
If you are anxious, you are living in the future.
If you are at peace, you are living in the present.

The ironic image that made me think of these words was the view from my rearview mirror. I’ve looked to the past before for answers, and today what was reflected back was a beautiful sunrise. Of course I think about the future, and am rather excited by what it holds, but excitement in my case is not anxiety. My past no longer makes me depressed but rather who I am today. Someone recently said that their past was the best worst thing that’s happened to them, and I could totally identify with that description.

As for me, I couldn’t think of a better image to represent my life right now than an incredible sunrise. How perfectly that reflected my present, and what a peaceful present it is.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
Link | This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Random Thoughts, Starting Anew and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflecting Thought

  1. Mommala says:

    Love your words and love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

