It Takes A Village

Life can be a big complicated mess. There is no rulebook and there are no instructions that tell you how to avoid getting hurt or making a mistake 100% of the time. We all live by trial and error. You could say that we all just make things up as we go along. We have no way to know what the future will hold, but many of our decisions are based on what has happened to us in the past. How then do we make it through each day without either feeling defeated or scared? We do so with a little help from our friends.

Think about the close relationships you’ve had over the years. These can range from friendships to marriages and everything in between. How many of them have you asked advice about? I think, for me, it would be safe to say that at one point or another I’ve asked advice about each and every one of them. This means that not only am I the sum of my experiences, but I’m the sum of the advice I’ve received. I have learned that my perspective isn’t always the clearest in each situation, so speaking with someone objective makes a world of difference.

I’m very grateful for those friends and family who are always there to lend an ear as well as some words of wisdom. I also am thankful to those with whom I share a relationship for seeking out advice from those they confide in when needed. What still amazes me is when I get just the right call or text from just the right person at just the right time. I believe that angels come in all shapes and forms, and I’d have to say that’s probably my favorite.

About robynthorn

I'm just a girl learning that I'm perfectly normal after all these years.
This entry was posted in Divorce, Friendship, Life Lessons, Random Thoughts, Starting Anew and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Takes A Village

  1. Mommala says:

    I do believe we have angles among us. Sometimes I wish they would show up more often!! Love you Robyn.❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

